To maybe brighten up your day

Where has the Sun gone? I mean, I know this is Britain and we should expect nothing less than the constant downpour of rain but when you are taunted with the great star in the sky, it would be nice if it stayed a little while longer. A few weeks back, I took some photos in the garden of what I haveΒ managed to plant when the Sun has made an appearance and I thought I’d share them to maybe brighten up your day.

I’m not saying I’m the next Alan Titchmarsh but gardening is something I enjoy doing in my spare time and it is nice to have the freedom to do what I want in the garden since the other members of my household just seem to let me get on with it – one less job for them I guess.

Enjoy…

Yellow Marigolds

Marigolds are always nice to brighten up any garden.

Pansies

Assorted Pansies with Yellow Nasturdium in the background.

Assorted Pansies with Yellow Nasturdium in the background.

Nasturtium Flower

This bee seems to be enjoying the Nasturtium I planted.

The Solanum Rantonnetii (aka Blue Potato Bush - no idea why) with its beautiful blue/purple flowers.

The Solanum Rantonnetii (aka Blue Potato Bush – no idea why) with its beautiful blue/purple flowers.

Who doesn't need a gnome to take care of their Lobelia erinus?

Who doesn’t need a gnome to take care of their Lobelia erinus?

 

2 thoughts on “To maybe brighten up your day

  1. I think it’s called Blue Potato Bush because it’s a blue bush from the nightshade family (like the potato). That’s my best guessβ€”and it’s so shockingly logical!. And of course there are blue potatoes too (Adirondack potato) and that just throws the whole notion of using common names (as opposed to esoteric binomens, comprised of hints at famous biologists and fortified heavy-handedly with amorphous globs of a certain dead language) into a right tizzy.

    Good luck with the new blog.

    I grow nasturtiums too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

