My 5 top tips for Freshers!

I know at my university (Sunderland), Freshers are starting next week so I thought I’d include a post on my top 5 tips! I’m entering my third and final year of my Biomedical Science degree later in the month and would have been thankful for some of these tips when I was starting. So, here goes…

 

  1. GET INVOLVED – Don’t be afraid to get involved! I know it will be daunting but you will be offered so many opportunities as a student so use that fear and try something new. Whether it’s joining a club/society, learning a language, volunteering, mentoring etc, if you take part it can mean meeting like-minded people (which may become your lifelong friends in addition to/ away from your course), a great CV enhancer and gives you something to enjoy away from studying… Bringing me onto the second tip…

 

  1. STUDYING/SOCIAL LIFE BALANCE – It is all too easy to fall into the ‘procrastination trap’, believe me – I’ve been there on many an occasion. The best thing I have found to get around this is making myself a timetable. It means I can note down study/social times and know that if I don’t follow it, I have to make the time up somewhere else. It may be that you have a part-time job, you’re volunteering for something, you’re on a sports team, or you have exams coming up… all this should go on the timetable. Try and work out how much time you’ll need to spend on these different tasks and I promise, a timetable will really help you getting stressed out when it comes to managing deadlines etc.

 

  1. BUDGET – Major one here!! Although it’s cheap drinks and student discount, I promise you your student loan won’t last two minutes unless you budget. If you’re in student accommodation, just remember you have rent, food, and depending on distance travel… It soon mounts up and you’ll kick yourself for not leaving enough money. I’m not saying don’t go out and enjoy yourself; this will be the best few years of your life, but just be sensible.

 

  1. ATTEND – This may be shocking to some of you that I would include this as a top tip, but you wouldn’t believe how many people miss lectures or just don’t come in at all. Let’s just say though, I haven’t seen them since. With the right balance, there is no reason to not attend, it is only your future you’re damaging.

 

  1. ENJOY YOURSELF – Obviously the most important one, don’t forget to enjoy yourself! Like I said earlier, these will be the best few years of your life so make the most of them. You’ve worked hard to get here, so although you need to work even harder, play harder 🙂 You won’t regret it. Have fun! I hope you have an amazing time 🙂

freshers

5 thoughts on “My 5 top tips for Freshers!

Leave a Reply

