The Lion King : Musical

A bit late I know, but just wanted to share my thoughts on The Lion King: Musical I saw last Saturday night at Sunderland Empire Theatre… WHAT A SHOW!

It wasn’t the first time I saw this show; I saw it twice at the Lyceum Theatre in London and the show just keeps going from strength to strength. Anyone who knows me knows that I live for the Lion King and the performances I witnessed just cement why (especially young Simba and Nala!)

Julie Taymor is the marvel behind the show (working as the director, in costume design, mask/puppet co-design and additional lyrics) and won a Tony Award for Best Direction of a Show and Best Costumes in 1998. If you ever get the chance, GO!

I cried, laughed and smiled with awe, excitement and wonder and it is impossible to look away for a second. I can’t wait until the next time I see it. It doesn’t matter where you sit, the cast and crew make sure that everyone is included in the wonder of the show. It is spectacular! The vibrancy and passion of the cast and colours draw you in from the very first second.

And if you do ever find yourself there… DON’T FORGET YOUR TISSUES!

http://www.thelionking.co.uk/ Take a look, there may be a show near you πŸ™‚

lion king

6 thoughts on “The Lion King : Musical

Leave a Reply

